Johannes Brahm's Serenade #1: Movements I, IV, VI

The Tuscarawas Philharmonic will present the fifth concert of its "Intermezzo" season with a virtual performance on Saturday, March 13th at 7:30 p.m. Viewers are invited to join the orchestra on its website, YouTube, or Facebook page to enjoy Johannes Brahms’ miniature masterpiece, "Serenade No. 1 - Movements II, III & V in D, Op. 11."

Written in 1858, this charming multi-movement chamber piece serves as a precursor to the composer’s later iconic orchestral and choral compositions. Scored for a nonet of winds and strings, our socially distanced orchestra will perform three of the six movements: "Scherzo," "Adagio," and the lively "Scherzo – Allegro" under the baton of Maestro Eric Benjamin.

As with previous concerts from the orchestra's virtual "Intermezzo" season, Tuscarawas Philharmonic will partner with Tuscarawas County music teachers to provide this season's performances as an online venue for classroom learning.

Concert Information
View Online: Website | FB | YouTube
Start Date: Mar. 13 (7:30 PM), 2021
Season Sponsor
  • ProVia
  • Barbour PUblishing
  • The Reeves Foundation
  • Tuscarawas County Community Foundation
  • Beverly McCall
  • AAA of Tuscarawas County
  • Craig & Shirley Stambaugh