Johannes Brahm's Serenade #1: Movements I, IV, VI

The Tuscarawas Philharmonic will present the fourth concert of its “Intermezzo” season with a virtual performance on Saturday, February 13th at 7:30 p.m. Viewers are invited to join the orchestra on its website, YouTube, or Facebook page to enjoy Johannes Brahm’s miniature masterpiece, “Serenade No. 1” in D major, Op. 11.

Written in 1858, this charming multi-movement chamber piece serves as a precursor to the composer's later iconic orchestral and choral compositions. Scored for a nonet of winds and strings, our socially distanced orchestra will perform three of the six movements: "Allegro," "Menuetto," and the rousing "Rondo," under the baton of Maestro Eric Benjamin. narrator, under the baton of Maestro Eric Benjamin.

As with previous concerts from the orchestra's virtual "Intermezzo" season, Tuscarawas Philharmonic will partner with Tuscarawas County music teachers to provide this season's performances as an online venue for classroom learning.

Concert Information
View Online: Website | FB | YouTube
Start Date: Feb. 13 (7:30 PM), 2021
Season Sponsors
  • ProVia
  • Chevron
  • The Max and Jane Krantz Foundation
  • James and Linda Angel Rice
  • Tuscarawas County Community Foundation
  • Krugliak, Wilkins, Griffiths & Dougherty Co., LPA
  • Bill and Chris Emley
  • Peggy Pritz